You are here

Peter Bognanni presents THINGS I'M SEEING WITHOUT YOU

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after learning of Jonah's death. Jonah, the boy she'd traded banter with over texts and heartfelt e-mails.
Jonah, the first boy she'd told she loved and the first boy to say it back.
Jonah, the boy whose suicide she never saw coming.
Tess continues to write to Jonah, as a way of processing her grief and confusion. But for now she finds solace in perhaps the unlikeliest of ways: by helping her father with his new alternative funeral business, where his biggest client is . . . a prized racehorse?
As Tess's involvement in her father's business grows, both find comfort in the clients they serve and in each other. But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought. Especially after she receives a message that turns her life upside down.
Funny, heartbreaking, hopeful, and wondrous, in the vein of Six Feet Under and I'll Give You the Sun, Things I'm Seeing Without You is a beautiful examination of what it means to love someone, to lose someone, and to love again.
 
 
 
Peter Bognanni is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop. His debut novel, The House of Tomorrow, won the LA Times award for first fiction and the ALA Alex Award and has been adapted into a feature film. He teaches creative writing at Macalester College in Saint Paul, Minnesota.
 

Event date: 
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
38 S Snelling Ave
Common Good Books
St Paul, MN 55105
Things I'm Seeing Without You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735228047
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - October 3rd, 2017